In South America we find a total of twelve countries, each with its own flag. In this article, we show you images of all of them, arranged in alphabetical order. In addition, we indicate the meaning of these emblems, as well as the name of the capital of each South American territory. Do you know where each country is located?

1. Argentina

The flag of Argentina, a country with capital in Buenos Aires, began to be used in 1812, so it has an antiquity of more than 200 years. However, it was not until 1918 that the Sun of May was added in the center.

This sun is the symbol of the Inca god called Inti. It is known as Sun of May, since it represents the May Revolution of 1810, which was the origin of the independence of Argentina.

2. Brazil

The capital of Brasil is Brasilia. In its flag we observe a total of 27 stars, which symbolize the states that make up the territory. Inside you can read the phrase Ordem e Progresso, Meaning Order and progress.

3 Bolivia

Since 1851, this is the official flag of Bolivia, known as the tricolor. Its red color symbolizes the blood shed in the struggle for independence, yellow the wealth and natural resources of the country, and green nature and hope. The state capital is Sucre, but the seat of government is in La Paz.

4. Chile

The insignia of Chile, a South American country with capital in Santiago de Chile, is called the lone star. The blue of it represents the sky and the Pacific Ocean, the white the snow-capped peaks of the Andes and the red the blood spilled in the fight.

5. Colombia

The yellow of the flag of Colombia, with capital in Bogotá, refers to wealth and the sun; the blue, to the sky, the rivers and the oceans; and, the red, to the blood shed for freedom. It has its origin in the first flag that was made in 1801 to represent the countries that joined after independence from Spain in the Greater Colombia.

6. Ecuador

The official flag of Colombia is in force since 1860. In the center of it appears the shield, in which we see represented the Chimborazo, an important mountain in the Andes, and the Guayas River. The capital of the territory is Quito.

7. Guyanese

The insignia of Guyana, whose capital is Georgetown, is also called the golden arrowhead. It has been official since 1966. Its colors represent the following:

  • Green is agriculture and forests
  • White represents rivers and water
  • Yellow is mineral wealth
  • The black color symbolizes the ability to resist
  • Red is the ardor and dynamism of the country

8. paraguay

In the Paraguayan flag, red is justice, white is peace and blue is freedom. In the center is the shield o National Seal, formed by a star surrounded by a palm branch and an olive tree. The capital of the country is Asunción.

9. Peru

The official emblem of Peru, with capital in Lima, has been in force since 1925. Its shield appears on it, in which we find a vicuña symbolizing the wealth of the animal kingdom, a cinchona tree for the wealth of the plant kingdom and a cornucopia for that of the mineral kingdom.

10. Suriname

The flag of Suriname became official in 1975, after the country's independence. The star that appears in it represents the unity of the ethnic groups that we find in the territory. The capital is fixed in Paramaribo.

11 Uruguay

In the flag of Uruguay we also find the Sun of May. However, in this case we see 8 straight rays and 8 curved, while the Argentine insignia has 16 of each. It has been in force since 1830. The capital is Montevideo.

12. Venezuela

In the insignia of Venezuela, with capital in Caracas, yellow refers to wealth and the sun; the blue, to the seas, the skies and the rivers; and, the red, to the blood. As for the stars, they symbolize the ancient provinces of the country.

General map

In the following image you can see South America and locate the different countries that we have talked about identified by their flag:

As you have seen, each flag has a different origin marked by the history of the country to which it belongs. Which flag do you find the most beautiful? And which is the strangest for you?

This article has been shared 43 times. We have spent many hours collecting this information. If you liked it, share it, please: