La Plaza of Spain, Sevilla, is within the set of Maria Luisa Park. It was created for the Ibero-American Exhibition of 1929. It was made in a regionalist style, which mixes Mudejar, Gothic and Renaissance.

Plaza of Spain

It is 200 meters in diameter. Around the square there are 48 banks representing the Spanish provinces. Its decoration in tiles shows the shield, the map and facts about the history of each one of them. Its semi-elliptical shape symbolizes the embrace between Spain and what had been their colonies. In the central area a fountain is erected.

Spain Square

The square is surrounded by a canal crossed by four small bridges that symbolize the four kingdoms that formed the Spanish crown: Aragon, Castile, Leon and Navarra.
The buildings around the square they are currently used as the headquarters of public, governmental and military organizations.

Plaza de España in Seville

Among the most notable elements of its decoration are the marbles, forged iron, the 24 imperial eagles with the coat of arms of Charles V and the 48 medallions with the busts of illustrious men from Spain.

[mean id = 966]

The square is public and free to enter, but closes at 22 pm.

This article has been shared 28 times. We have spent many hours collecting this information. If you liked it, share it, please: